New Rules Regarding Visa Waiver Travelers Go into Affect Today!

We recently blogged about the change in rule being implemented by USCIS regarding the Visa Waiver Program.  Basically, those who have visited Iran, Iraq, Sudan or Syria or who are nationals of those countries (even if they are nationals of another country as well) cannot use the visa waiver program.  The DOS has now put this rule into effect starting today with one change.

Those who are not nationals of the above listed countries but have visited them as diplomats or on most military matters, are exempted from this prohibition (although even if you fit in one of these exceptions, or think you do, you need to check the exact wording to ensure that you actually do fit in the exception).

If you have any questions leave a comment below or send me an email.  Please remember, as always, this blog does not offer legal advice. If you need legal advice, consult with a lawyer instead of a blog. Thank you.

Subscribe to Immigration Briefs

Don’t miss out on the latest issues. Sign up now to get access to the library of members-only issues.